Home » Jesus » I’d Like a Laptop….

I’d Like a Laptop….

Imagine me packing up my laptop to stroll in the park. Under a favorite tree, I would unpack, settle down, and write. Out in the fresh breeze, under the blue sky and leafy boughs,inspiration would flow, stories would be written, truths be sifted through and explained.

Or imagine taking the laptop with me to a coffee shop where, with stealthy glasses, I would watch people enter and order, and write them down as characters to use in a novel. And picking up my handy Criminal Writer’s Reference Guide, I would plot out a mystery novel. Or imagine me with the simple opportunity to withdraw into a quiet bedroom with coffee and cookies nearby to write to my heart’s content.

I would like a laptop. But so far, it hasn’t come to reality. I have to put up with a desktop in the living room where the entire family lives.

Even more than a laptop, I would like selflessness. I feel chained to my own desires and comforts so that I cannot love as I ought.

I would like diligence, the ability and will to complete what I start and struggle through trials.

I would like self-discipline, to read the Bible and pray consistently and faithfully.

I would like grace of speech.

I would like wisdom and discernment.

Okay, the list goes on and on. (Yours probably does too.) I feel like such a baby Christian sometimes because I lack in all these areas.

Well, I read today from the book β€œPentecost-Today?” by Iain H. Murray. He was actually quoting another book that said,
β€œSome things that we might think desirable we may not have. Before Christ was brought face to face with the tempter, he was fitted for his service by being kept hungry for forty days; and it may be that some things we desire may in like manner be kept back. But faith should always claim that that which God has given us, and is giving us, is sufficient for present needs. If faith is only in lively exercise we shall know this, That no single thing we do not possess would be a help to us today. What does the Word say? ‘No good thing will he withhold’ (Psa. 84:11) ‘My God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus’ (Phil. 4:19).

That struck home. A laptop would not be a help today, nor patience or compassion, as strange as that sounds. Because for some reason in God’s grand design, I’m not supposed to have it. I don’t know when I might ever get a laptop, but God does. And after all, true freedom is being a slave to Christ, including a slave to His plans for me.

And since the key to contentment is gratefulness, I have already begun to mentally review all the blessings God has given to me. Material goods are all around me, including the green grass and sweet smelling lilacs. And even looking at my character, which can be depressing, I see how I have grown and matured and I’m very grateful God has been patient to bring me this far. With His grace, I can only grow closer to Him.

In Christ,
Ellie
 

17 thoughts on “I’d Like a Laptop….

  1. This is really good. I feel like I can really relate to it. God has taught me so much just in the last year about being content with where He has me, what He’s given me, and the people He’s thrown me together with. I still need to learn how to make the most of them all to bring Him glory.

    Though He is growing me and teaching me, I still struggle with it all sometimes… even though I HAVE a laptop. πŸ˜‰

    Always remember that He is sovereign, and that His plan for you is better than anything you could possibly imagine, and He’s going to bring it to completion no matter what. πŸ™‚

    • πŸ™‚ God has taught me a lot too. It’s kind of amazing how He fit everything together in such a way. I couldn’t ignore it. God is great.

      I think we all probably do. Before a laptop it was a violin. πŸ™‚

      Thanks a bunch for the comment. Sorry for the late reply.

  2. Well said, Ellie.

    Here’s another thought:

    You do not need what God has for you until you are doing what God has for you

    Now, I’m not saying that it directly applies to you right now (or in any particular time), but you have a good mind for pondering out the truths of Scripture, and I hope for you to apply that mind to this thought.

  3. Ellie, thanks so much for this post. It applies to all of us in one way or another, I know it does to me. Thank you!

  4. Spot-on, Ellie, once again. Somehow your posts always speak directly to what I’m going through at the moment. “True freedom is being a slave to Christ, including a slave to His plans for me.”

    Thank you so much.

  5. I’d love to follow your blog, but I don’t have an account linked to wordpress. I use blogger. I will, however, check in on you! I hear you like to write. SO DO I!!!

    • I do believe you can follow with any email address by clicking the little black box in the right bottom corner. (+ Follow)
      And I love to talk with people who love to write! But you won’t give me your name! And I have a strange feeling that I know you. So who are you?

  6. This is so funny to me. I randomly came across your blog today while trying to find a video of Mark Webb’s song “His Love,” and found your music blog, which eventually led me to this blog. I saw this post and glanced at it, and you’re reading Iain Murray’s book, “Pentecost-Today?” So am I! How funny. Would love to be able to chat with you sometime, Lord willing! Sounds like there is a lot of like-mindedness πŸ™‚

    • πŸ˜€ I’m glad you found me!
      I just finished that book, and I’d love you hear your thoughts on it.
      It was a little technical for me to get seriously involved in it, but there was some parts that convicted and encouraged me. One being that we are to seek to be filled with the Holy Spirit, especially if we are going to evangelize effectively. πŸ™‚
      Comment any time!

      • Haha, well thank you! I picked up the book myself because I heard how highly Paul Washer, my favorite living preacher, held it. So far I’ve only read the first chapter, but I can tell it’s going to be a very helpful book for me. I’m also looking forward to reading the second chapter on Charles Finney. Unfortunately, he’s done a lot to hurt the church, and I’m sure this chapter will show that more effectively as well. I’ve been a bit bogged down with work and studies, that’s why I’m only on the first chapter, haha. I’m attending the undergrad of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, KY, so I’m a busy beaver! Haha. It’s so nice to “meet” you though, Ellie! Always good to meet a new sister in the Lord. Even better when it’s a sister/brother who takes the Lord seriously amidst the rampant lukewarmness in the church in America today. πŸ™‚

        • NO WAY!! I know so many people who went and are at that Seminary! Wow. You’re talking about Paul Washer? He’s good friends with the pastor of my church. I’m so tempted to rattle off names to see if you recognize them. But I won’t. Just asking, ever heard of Rockport Baptist Church?
          The second chapter was good! I hadn’t realized how many of the problems with the church and church systems today come from him. His work is still among us, and yes, it is harmful.

          It’s great to meet you too. Good luck with your studies!
          Numbers 6:24-26

          • Oh wow! This is quite funny. Yes, I have heard of Rockport. My former and current pastor are also good friends with bro Paul! Now I’m curious….I’d like to know if I know the people as well! I have an idea, haha. Shoot me an email and let’s talk! Something tells me this could lead to very fruitful and edifying conversation. My email is matthewisennholz@gmail.com πŸ™‚

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

