Home » Favorite » Beginning Writer and some team work

Beginning Writer and some team work

First, by way of introduction….

_MG_9353

This is Jimmy!!!!

_MG_5976

_MG_7786

_MG_6006

_MG_7120

_MG_3855

_MG_5741

_MG_7774

_MG_7726

Alright, so now that you know Jimmy, I can tell you he’s a new writer! He is writing me a lovely story about a “dee” (bee). Today he was super excited to do it–give me a story to edit and revise for him.

He is smart you know! Today he told us, “Lighting bugs must eat the sun.” When I told him it was too cute he said, “I mean, they sit out in the sun so they can glow at night. That’s like their food.” That’s why he should be a writer. I told him so and that is where this started, but obviously he’s had this idea of the bee in his head for quite awhile, since he learned about them in school.

So here’s his story.

_MG_7345

Translation: “Once there was a bee, but he didn’t have wings or a pattern. He was a little worm shape. One day he woke up. He was shaped like a bee, but he did not have a pattern like a bee, so he ate furious but they….”(I’ve only received one page. He’s still working on the second.
After he proudly gave me his work–I revised it. Here’s the second draft:
“Once upon a time there was a bee, well, he was not really a bee, not to himself. To himself he saw only a little worm shape, and honestly, he really was just a little worm. No wings, no stripes.
He waited quite awhile, depressed because he never thought he would be a bee. Not now, not ever. But the day came when he found that his head was shaped very finely, and his body as well. But he was not a bee, and he knew it, because he had no stripes, no pattern.
He went on with his life, admiring his head and eyes, but not doing much else–except eat honey of course; the real bees above poured it down on his head constantly….”
Watch out Washington! Look out Times Square! Here we come to rock the nation!
Happy Writing!
Electric Bubbles
4 thoughts on “Beginning Writer and some team work

    • Haha! He turned eight in March. Haha. He wants me to print my little paragraph out so bad so he can put it into book form (with some proper illustrations) but I keep telling him to write a second page! Hahaha! He’s so funny….

    • Haha! Thanks, Alexa. I try to encourage him. That picture of him holding his story–I get fuzzy every time I look at it. It would be awesome if he wrote stories one day. Like me! Haha.

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

