Home » My own thoughts/Random Blogging » Camp NaNoWriMo, A Grand Finish

Camp NaNoWriMo, A Grand Finish

Whoop! I finished yesterday with 81,153 words! I finished my wordgoal right as I finished drinking a large cup of strong iced coffee. I generally try to keep still right after I drink coffee, but I couldn’t yesterday. I went nuts. I was talking and shaking and typing and laughing so fastΒ I could barely understand what I wanted to say. After that, I crashed, and was blissfully tired the rest of the evening. It truly was an epic experience. Perhaps the most epic experience of NaNoWriMo, just because I fought so hard to get 80,000 and 10,000 in the last two days when I should have been writing 5,332 in the last two days. And I cheered on friends to the finish, rejoicing with everyone until I was in a state of literal frenzy.

printer

Today–I printed out my whole novel, if you can call it a novel. I finished my original climax so I just carried on the story until I had all my words. It still has no finish. But I printed it all out and held it with my own hands.

 

nanowrimo novelI was very happy to hold it, and for future NaNoWriMo’s, I won’t be able to do any differently.

I thought about shredding my novel and sleeping on it, Chris Baty’s way to celebrate, but if I did, I might burst into tears and not sleep for days.

I finally named it too, though the name will most likely change sometime.

_MG_5883

Also, I am trying to lengthen the story and turn it into three separate stories, so I need more than one title.

_MG_5881

Not only was it terribly exciting to hold my novel and see a whole month’s work, it is enjoyable to read through and write notes on. I’ve already been going through with a favorite pen and writing my opinions of each scene. I’m not discouraged yet! (Though I’m sure it will come. Always does, peeps, just be ready for it.)

Endless thanks to all my writing buddies who kept me going, inspired me, and fought countless wordwars. Without those wordwars there’s no way I could have made it.

So now with another rough draft under my belt, and perhaps my favorite yet–

Chair for now!

me

P.S. I was going to shower before I took these pictures, but that did not seem to me to be in the NaNoWriMo spirit. Don’t worry, I wore deodorant. πŸ˜›

 

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo, A Grand Finish

  1. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re so amazing! I love the title too… You have done exceedingly well on all accounts!
    I completely forgot about Camp Nanowrimo…oh well, maybe I’ll remember next year! πŸ™‚ I’m glad you were able to do it. It looks like a lot of work, good job coming through!

    • Aww. Thanks Payton! ^_^ It was a bunch of fun.
      You don’t have to wait until next year….you can do it in July! πŸ˜€ I’m planning on doing it then. πŸ˜‰ And if you don’t in July, there’s always the regular November.

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

