Home » NaNoWriMo » Planning for Planning

Planning for Planning

Yeah, I need help when I’m planning for planning. I wrote down what all I need to outline, starting tomorrow at 5:30am.

  • 3 Act plot, brief summary of 3 catastrophes and important plots of the catastrophes
  • Fleshing out of 3 Act summary:
    • Act 1, subplots, what needs to be established (how the characters are committed)
    • Act 2, what needs to happen to progress the story
    • Act 3, what needs to be concluded
  • Subplots and where they go
  • Scene sketch–scenes are still flexible and susceptible to change during the month
    • How long each scene should be
    • Mood(s) of scene
    • Importance
    • Purpose (every scene should have a purpose, but you can mainly deal with that after you’re done trying to get words 😉 )
  • Go back over character sheets
    • Take not of important character traits that must be there for the story to work. Note these in a synopsis somewhere.
  • Finally establish plot arc and tension throughout story

Okay, just to let you all know, not everyone plans like I do. Some would explode if they tried. I might explode, I don’t know, but I enjoy doing this. If you don’t! You don’t have to! Don’t let that stop you from doing NaNoWriMo. And after you get a few NaNoMonths under your belt, you will know more about what you ought to outline before hand. 😉

 

With great caffeinated well-wishes,

Electric Bubbles

9 thoughts on “Planning for Planning

  1. It sounds like you have a great plan for the structure of your novel! Do you use a writing software? I hadn’t until this year, when I decided to take advantage of one of the offers on the NaNoWriMo page and got a free trial of WriteWay. It took me less than a day to know I wanted the full version (and the $25 price was a bargain). It’s great for organizing your acts, chapters, and scenes. If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend checking it out.

    • Actually, no, I don’t have a writing software aside from Microsoft Works. I saw the offer on NaNoWriMo for a half off discount of Scrivener and took a month long trial, but in the end decided not to buy it, because Microsoft can do those things, only round about, a little more junk and work. *shrug* I do really enjoy shuffling folders and making files. Scrivener wasn’t a bit help.
      I’ve never tried WriteWay, I will have to check it out. Thanks

      • I tried Scrivener’s first too. I found it WAY too much work to operate. WriteWay is so much more streamlined and straight-forward. I love having my scene notes at the bottom of the page while I’m writing; it really helps me keep on track with what I’m trying to accomplish in each scene. I hope you’ll find it helpful too!

        • I gotta say, I love putting flags and colors on my scenes. Not terribly helpful, haha, it just pleases me.
          I’m writing my synopsis now, it’s really helpful in laying it out. I’m leaning toward buying it at the end of the month. 😉

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

