Home » Jesus » Mexico, Part 1

Mexico, Part 1

 

I think this is my third attempt to write a post about Mexico. Let us focus on just one part of the trip–construction. That came first in our routine of the day. (All photos by Billy Jackson)

contruction again

uniblock

This is Russ using Uniblock on the outside of the building. I think it was his first time?

He got it down and showed Gennie, and I know it was her first time. uniblocks

TheRest-131One of the funnest parts was going on the roof. Here we are gathering for our group photo, not working, obviously.

TheRest-128

Samson came up on the roof!!!!  TheRest-127

We were both very thrilled about that. He was happy to be up there and I was happy to have him. He’s a sweet dog.
TheRest-130There, that’s our roof crew. Let’s see, in the back, left to right, Gennie, Craig, Hermano (that’s all I called him, I don’t think I ever learned his name. >=/ Frustrating now) Roberto, Ismael, ME! In front, Aaron, Abdiel, Samson!, Sarah, Anita, and Abby. Billy is taking the picture, but he was up there too.

I was proud of myself for going on the roof, because I’m afraid of heights. The lure of laughter eventually worked on me to get me up and keep me up. We had quite a bit of fun scrubbing the roof.

TheRest-24

This was probably the funnest part of construction. See that roof? It was so ready to come down. So he knocked it down.

A brother at the church wanted the wood so we had to collect it an all, but it was fun enough, as long as we got to knock it down first.

russ directing

Russ directed…aaron victory

Aaron did his victory march….

JK!

contruction
Aaron did much more than supervise
TheRest-137
I’m sure!
We pulled out nails! Lots of nails! Even better, we flipped boards over and played “Wack-a-nail” Very fun.oof work
This is Ismael, Sarah, and I. A bad picture of me, but that’s what we did.
salamander
Abdiel showed us this totally cute creature, which Sarah and I immediately took as a gecko and tried to pick up. Haha. The reaction was hilarious. Abdiel pulled the stick back and started talking very fast. Then others told us it was a poisonous salamander and would sting you with its tail. By the time we got that message across, Billy had already had fun handling it with no consequences, but the rest of us decided, reluctantly, not to risk it. They said it isn’t very poisonous, it will only give you a fever for a day, or “make you hot.” Anyway, Gennie is holding it safely on a stick. (And then they wanted to smash it! Like a spider! The Gringos rescued it and it went across the wall to safety.)
TheRest-122While we’re looking around the place, I can show you where we were staying. Every night Russ had to pull the 15 passenger van into this tiny little space, with seriously about 7″ on each side while he eased himself in. In the top left hand corner is the bathrooms and shower stall (shower head doesn’t work, gotta use a bucket. So fun!) On the right is the temple where we meet for church. On the bottom left corner you can see a piece of the little balcony we had. For another view….
TheRest-43The boys on the left, girls on the right–because ladies are always right. Of course.
TheRest-102I thought this was so cool. There were various carts driving about, and this one was our trash cart. What an alternative to trucks! America should adapt these!
trash truck
Another trash cart

TheRest-140And the food! The food was great. The Hermanas took care of us to well. TheRest-14
And I took this picture! On the first morning, everything downstairs was locked, I was bored and Billy was gone for a moment.
And that’s all you’re getting for now! Later I might post more pictures, or try talking about what happened.

signed
-Electric Bubbles
I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

