Home » Jesus » His Commandments are Not Burdensome

His Commandments are Not Burdensome

(1st John 5:3), “For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments. And His commandments are not burdensome. ” Isn’t it true? For this is the love of God that we keep His commandments, not somehow our paying our way. Why, it is only through His strength we can obey His commandments, and His commandments truly are not burdensome.

(Matt. 11:28-29) “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” This is where the Pastor’s wife,  during Sunday School yesterday gave a mock sigh, “Oh Lord,” she moaned, “That is so hard. To come and rest when I am weary? Lord, you can’t expect that! To trade my burdens for your yoke, which is light. Lord, you are so hard on me!” Really? Can we go about doing His commandments grudgingly? Is it possible?

(Matt. 6:25) “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?” Burdensome? I think not! Though it can be hard not to be anxious, isn’t it so much better not to! And if the creator of the universe, if the very Son of God, the anointed one, God incarnate, tells is not to be anxious and later tells us, “See first the kingdom of God and His righteousness” can’t we trust him enough to let go of anxiety. It is a blessed to trust him! It truly is the love of God that we keep His commandments.

Again, (Matt. 6:7) “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” I often forget that this is a command. I used to think it was telling us we could ask, we could seek, we could knock, but I didn’t see it commands us to. (Actually, if you can ask, seek, and knock, why wouldn’t we?) It does! It is not a burden to come and ask.

(John 13:14) “If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet.” The Lord Jesus Christ did it. You realize that is does not take much physical strength to wash feet. It takes mental humility. If our Lord can lower himself to wash the feet of his followers, then so can we.

(1 Thes. 4:3) “For this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality” Our class reflected yesterday on the destruction that has come through sexual immorality. Socially, there are more diseases than we can count! The country is torn apart on the issue of Homosexuality. And personally, in individuals, lives, families, homes, children, churches, they have been torn apart violently through sexual immorality. Can we then begrudge the Lord who tells us to abstain? Oh no, the Lord has given us this commandment for our own good. It is the will of God that we remain whole, truthful, and pure.

(1 Thes 4:16-18) “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” Rejoice! Rejoice in everything! Rejoice in what, in God. We are told we not only can, but must rejoice. “Lord, you are so hard on me?” Never! Pray without ceasing, undoubtedly  all Christians can testify to prayer, right? Pray without ceasing, how often I gain from prayer, I am calmed by prayer, I feel refreshed by prayer. This verse alone has helped me with prayer more than any other. Pray without ceasing, and give thanks in everything. Surely the Lord’s commandments are not too hard. They are for us, the love of God shown to us, that He gives us strength and a willingness to obey.

(John 14:15) Where we originally were yesterday, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.” A regenerated person must understand that obedience is not the means of salvation, it is not the way to be saved–rather it is the result of being saved. A whole life, devoted to God, saved from the sways and passions of the world. We are secure, and let us never stop thanking God for His goodness through commandments.

 

signed

Electric Bubbles

9 thoughts on “His Commandments are Not Burdensome

  1. Great post!
    I was reminded of a line from the song “What a Friend We Have in Jesus” which goes like this:
    “O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,
    All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”

    And I agree, works come as a result of salvation–not the other way around. If you’ve been truly regenerated, then you will automatically bear good fruit.

    • ^_^ I know it! I do love that song.
      The teacher used my dad, “He is known as a photographer, he takes photos. Christians, we are known as commandment keepers. And remember, the pictures he took 20 years ago are not nearly as good as the ones he takes now and will take later.”

      • I hope I can come too! Last time they had it we were busy ice-skating! Did you ask Gennie when Taste and Send is? That would be so nice to see you.
        We aren’t meeting with R.C.A this Sunday, so I’ll ask if we can go to Rock-port!
        I have some pictures at the self defense class we took I want to give you too!:)

        Hey, are you going to any of the home school dances in January?!

        • Oh, I love ice-skating! I haven’t been in so long.
          Yeah, it’s on the 17th. You busy then?
          Oh do! ^_^
          You can email them to me, I’d love to see them. And oh, yes, we are taking the homeschool course starting January 6th, I think. At Trinity Lutheran church. You should come! Oh, that would be so cool. And Leah should come too.

  2. Yes! Ice skating is tons of fun… and Marscel Thomas taught me how to skate backwards! Haha! The Suermenns were there too! We aren’t busy that I know of, so Lord willing I can come!
    Well, I devolved them so giving them to you was kind of the point. ^_^
    We’ll probably go to some of the dance lessons!!! Yeppers, Leah and Savannah should come!

    • Oh fun! I still can’t skate backwards, though I can sort of glide backwards if it isn’t my first time that year. Every year we go again and I’m awful again. Well, we don’t go every year. One year we went 3 times and the 3rd time was amazing! My ankles didn’t hurt at all.
      Oh yay. I do hope you can. And that’s awesome! I have to invite you to our dance. Yeah, we’re hosting a dance! At a small church right next to our neighborhood. We will have square, contra, English Country, and a folk dance. It should be fun! We are taking turns calling, and a couple guys from church are playing music for us. You should come! It’s free. On Dec 7th from 7pm to 9:30. Tell me if you need more info or the directions.

  3. I’ve only gone skating a couple times. But the last time was was great for me too! But I’m sure I’m a pathetic sight to see when I try to skate backwards!
    The dance sounds sooo fun!! Uh! I realized I spelled developed wrong in the last comment.lol

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

