Home » NaNoWriMo » The Last Week!

The Last Week!

This is it! The last seven days! Everything you have done comes down to this week. The last seven days is when the final rush happens. I love that final rush. You can’t give up now! Not after all that work. That novel might be junk, but it’s something! And after Camp we can all work on revising, rewriting, and editing and all that boring stuff. You don’t have to do it, but I’d at least give it a try to make your novel as best as it can get.

Remember when I told you go telling everybody about Camp NaNoWriMo? Remember how I said it would help you later? Now is the time. If you give up not, you will look like a fool. If you win, however, when everybody was shaking their heads saying that you were crazy, it’s quite impressive.

When you make 50,000 words, you get to go posting it all over Facebook, Tweeting it, and simply talking about it until your friends are sick. You can send out a screenshot of your winning word count, or you can post a video of you cheering. Chris Baty gives you wonderful ideas for working your novel into conversation in his book, “No Plot? No Problem!”

Writer: So, what’s up partygoer?

Partygoer: Not much! I’ve been pretty sick lately with that flu that’s been going around, so I’ve just been laying low. Sleeping a lot, you know…

Writer: Oh, man! That’s so funny you would say that. The protagonist in my novel had this moment where he thought about opening an office supply store that sold only wiener dogs.

Partygoer (laughing):  What a brilliant plot idea! I feel better already.

Writer: Yeah. Cracked me up, too. But he didn’t end up doing it. Maybe in the sequel huh? (A little wink or elbow works well right here.)

Partygoer (getting out a pen): I need your autograph right now.

As for notes from other Wrimo Winners on “The End”, also from “No Plot? No Problem!”

“When Week Four shows up, I grit my teeth. This is when I’m typically close to fifty thousand words, but miles away from the end of the story. I bring out the broadest brush in my arsenal. Entire scenes get described in a few sentences as I rush to begin detailing the plot elements necessary for the story. I race to build the climax. For the past two years, I’ve been forced to write twenty thousand words in two or three days to get the story on paper. I have the exhilaration of typing, “The End” to be so intense, so moving, that I typically cry as I type those words.”
–Russell Kremer, 51, three-time NaNoWriMo winner from Los Angeles

“There’s a lot of giggling to yourself, partially because by this point you’ve become slightly mad, but I think also because you’re free to really take yourself less seriously.”
Ryan Dunsmuir, 38, five0time NaNoWriMo winner from Brooklyn

SO! Here we go. 50,000 words or bust!

signed

-Electric Bubbles

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

