Home » NaNoWriMo » Once upon a time…

Once upon a time…

… a silly girl thought it would be possible to write 50,000 words in one month only, while continuing her daily life in reasonable sanity–and live to tell about it.

So how are you beginning your story? What’s the first line? Do you have one? Are you writing the prologue first or after? The beginning is an important part, and that first scene is going to launch your whole journey, so launch it well. Put all the detail and enthusiasm that you can into that first scene, BUT just for fun, just for now, I want you to totally goof your first line, and just maybe you’ll hit a good one by accident. e.g.

“Time to stop my life for a month, you ready…”
“As soon as I hit 50,000 words, this story is ending and going into my ‘non active’ folder…”
“What on earth am I supposed to write about…”
“I’m not sure why they call Sci-fi a novel, but I’m giving it a shot…”
“The only reason I’m writing this book is Electric Bubbles won’t take ‘no’ for an answer, so I might as well get on with it…” (Very true BTW)

The first line should be the best line, if you can make it that way, I’m bad with first lines. I’ve often browse the bookshelves in our house and wrote all the first lines and first paragraphs of my favorite books. But however you end up beginning your book, it’s cool! And I want to hear it, so tell me in the comments. If you use that last line I’ve simply got to know.

For now, that blank page below is ready to be filled.

signed

-Electric Bubbles

P.S. This post is scheduled to post at 12:00am June 1st.

P.S.S. What is your very first day’s count?

6 thoughts on “Once upon a time…

  1. Mine is “She lay on the ground, thinking of what to do. Her pursuers were chasing her and her heart was pounding. She had to find a good place to hide” Whatcha think

    p.s Sorry, I couldn’t just do one sentence they just flow together.

  2. ‘Her heart raced as she stumbled over the roots reaching up to grab her in the growing darkness.’

    Mine is very similar to Alexa’s I see. I only managed 752 words yesterday but I’m aiming on hitting 12k by the end of today, so we’ll see how that goes!

    Good luck with your camp novel! 😀

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

