Home » Book Review » NaNoWriMo Books

NaNoWriMo Books

Yet another Nanopost that I couldn’t keep in my drafts folder long enough. 

I found a couple of books by NaNoPeople for NaNoPeople to see how they would help out my buddies who are going to Camp with me. (See Camp NaNoWriMo)


No Plot, No Problem! is a book, especially for NaNoWriMo by Chris Baty, the very man who started NaNoWriMo in 1999. (Don’t we owe a lot to him?)

I loved reading No Plot, No Problem! It’s fun, exciting, and very helpful in getting your word count finished. He’s got the exercises, activities, brain triggers, and helpful info that a starter, or a re-starter, would need. (It’s even got little buttons to click! My inner editor had a kick with this guy.) Chris Baty uses a “Talk to the reader” feel, and he acts like a teacher, an awesome, fun, and a bit haha strange teacher. (More like a fellow student with a bunch of experience.) You gotta love the cowboy hat thinking cap; I need one of those. And to celebrate after June, I just might take his advice. 😛
I must warn that in this book as in so many other books a few times, he does use slightly inappropriate words for no reason. I hate when that happens, but it’s there so, yeah that.


Ready Set Novel! is a workbook by Chris Baty, Lindsey Grant, and Tavia Stewart-Streit, from National Novel Writing Month

It is basically an activity book to get your story planned and started, especially if you aren’t sure about the plot of your novel, or even if you have no story in mind at all. From the very beginning they have you relaxed and ready to write whatever junk comes up. They have character sheets, many lines and boxes to fill out, and journal space. By working with this book, you will understand what you love in your novel, what is hazy, and what you want to avoid. You can understand your place, character, and plot better instead of starting your draft with nothing in mind. (Though, just between you and me, that can be a lot of fun.)

This book will help you before your NaNoWriMo month really, I would recommend filling the whole journal out the week before NaNoWriMo so it is all fresh in your mind when you start writing the draft. You who use it, have fun!!!
I’ve been trying to find other NaNoWriMo books, but no one has ever heard of NaNoWriMo except for the NaNoPeople, so libraries don’t have much of them. Anyway, these are the main two NaNobooks and they are very helpful in NaNoWriMo or out of it.

I plan to read No Plot? No Problem! Every year in October and I’ll be using Ready, Set, Novel! every time I plan a book.

Have fun!
And if you haven’t signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo yet you ought to!

signed
-Electric Bubbles

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

