Home » NaNoWriMo » Camp NaNoWriMo!

Camp NaNoWriMo!

Camp NaNoWriMo - An idyllic writers retreat, smack-dab in the middle of your crazy life.

This post is a little early, like three months early, but I couldn’t resist sending out the invitations. It’s never too soon or too late to join. I’ll be reposting this post sometime to remind you all. You don’t have to have any writing/NaNoWriMo experience to join and win! And I’ll be boosting you along the way. (You lucky people.)

Come one, come all and join in the insanity! As I have long mourned, National Novel Writing Month only happens once a year, but Camp NaNoWriMo happens twice. 😀 Once in June and again in August. So sign up at campnanowrimo.org and drop me a note if you want to be in my cabin. I’m planning on doing it in June, and if enough of you join me for August, I just may go for that one too. 😀 You don’t have to have any writing experience, and if you aren’t participating with me, you’ll get a lot of NaNoWriMo junk from my blog in the month of June.

What: Writing one 50,000-word novel from scratch in a month’s time.

Who: You! We can’t do this unless we have some other people trying it as well. Let’s write laughably awful yet lengthy prose together.

Why:  The reasons are endless! To actively participate in one of our era’s most enchanting art forms! To write without having to obsess over quality. To be able to make obscure references to passages from our novels at parties. To be able to mock real novelists who dawdle on and on, taking far longer than 30 days to produce their work.

When: You can sign up anytime to add your name to the roster. Writing begins 12:00:01 AM on June 1, and again on August 1. To be added to the official list of winners, you must reach the 50,000-word mark by 11:59:59 PM on the last day of the month. Once your novel has been verified by our web-based team of robotic word counters, the partying begins!

Come join us in the land of the bold, the ambitious, the relentless; come spend a month of wild literary abandon at Camp NaNoWriMo 2012!

signed
-Electric Bubbles
13 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo!

  1. I plan on trying! I haven’t looked into it at all yet, but are you allowed to already have stuff written before you start? I’m thinking it would be a really good time to make myself finish one of the novels I started several years ago.

    • Well Sarah, the rules are pretty clear, you must start your draft from scratch, though you can have all the outlines and character sketches you want.
      But then again there are always NaNoRebles, that is, people who play by different rules. They have a whole forum page to themselves too. So whatever you choose is cool, you really aren’t bound by anything.
      And I’m so happy you are doing it!!!! =D ^v^ Yay! When you sign up, give me your nanoname and I’ll try to get you in my cabin. ^_^

      • Hmm. Maybe I’ll just take the character sketches and start over from there. That’s pretty much all I have of one story: character sketches and some really, really bad attempts at putting them into some sort of story. Maybe this time I could come up with a plot, haha!

        • Yayayayayayyyy!!! I’m so happy! We are all so happy! We are all so happy all the day day day day. Happy happy happy….
          BTW, this is random, did you see the new Kid History? Episode 8? I don’t think it lives up to normal standard, but ha ha, Kid History is Kid History and Kid History is still hilarious. I keep saying, “My name is Jake and I’m poking a snake.”

  2. Oh yeah Ellie I’m totaly doing it… wether officaly or not, I plan to give it a go with you! 😀 Can’t wait till June!!!! 😀

      • Just a few questions; what happens if you win? What happens if you don’t? And do you have to FINISH your novel or just get past the 50,000 word count?

        • You don’t really have to finish your novel, but it’s fun.
          And if you win! You get to print out a certificate, and brag about it on my blog, and just party together!!! 😀 if you don’t, well, *sigh* you don’t. But don’t consider that.

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

