Home » Book Review » On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, #1 in the Wingfeather Saga

On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, #1 in the Wingfeather Saga

Our family has finished reading the third book in this series so I’m writing a short review to encourage others to read it. Really, it’s great!

You may know Andrew Peterson as a contemporary Christian music artist, but did you know he is an author, and one of the best?

At every turn Andrew Peterson surprises you again until your mind begins coming up with crazy, bizarre things that might happen next, but of course you stop yourself with a laugh; “That’s too crazy to happen.” It never is! I look forward to forgetting everything so i can read it all again.

Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby live in a little town of Glipwood, next to the dark sea of darkness. They were happy (except for the Fangs that now guarded the town, ever since the Great War, swaggering about and taking children as leasure) until now, and it started with the Dragon Day festival. Meanwhile, Gnag the Nameless is searching all over Scree for the Jewels of Anniera that will enable him to conquer Glipwood, Scree, and possibly the world.

The beginning may take off a bit slow, but I was too busy laughing and rolling my eyes at Andrew Peterson to notice. (In a good way, mind you; he’s really quite funny.)

I give the whole series a hearty five stars and would recommend it to anybody. Now that I’ve finished reading all three books I’m dying for the forth. None of the endings really leave off at big cliff hangers, now that I think about it, but I still couldn’t wait for the next. But now I must. *sigh* Poor, me. 😦

Andrew Peterson has really written a soon be classic that will inevitably be passed from generation to generation. On the very first page you are told in plain words that this is unlike any book you have every read, and if you laughed at the title, you won’t believe what’s inside.

And to anyone who asks, I must say my favorite character is Peet, Nugget, or Podo.

-signed

Electric Bubbles

6 thoughts on “On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, #1 in the Wingfeather Saga

  1. Interesting…? Was this the series you were telling me about?? Oh, BTW have I ever told you about the Kingdom series by: Chuck Black. They are really good family books if you guys haven’t read them, you should.

    • oh that’s what you think!! Peet isn’t his real name anyway, but i can’t tell you his real name. and Podo is awesome and has a wooden leg and a pipe, and Nugget is a dog. 😛 Read it, really.

I love comments! Please tell me what you think.

